New Years Resolutions & Where I’ve Been!

Hello everyone! Well, I thought it was finally time to make another blog post. Ever since my struggle with Blogmas, I’ll be honest it’s been a bit hard for me to sit down and write again. But that’s what I want to talk to you guys about today…what exactly has been going on. So without beating around the bush, I’ll jump straight into it.

Health Takes a Dip

The week before my Christmas break from work, I ended up getting a fairly bad cold. I stayed home from work one day to recuperate and pushed myself to go back probably a bit too soon. However, it was just a cold and things needed to get done. Christmas break was finally here and my health was improving everyday until the sickness was completely gone! My break was spent eating lots of great food and spending time with my family. I had a few days of work to complete but most of it was very relaxing and exactly what I needed. Unfortunately though, with about a week dealing with that cold and the holiday, my time at the gym was starting to diminish and I wasn’t watching what I was eating in the slightest. To summarize: I was falling into old habits and my health was very up and down.

Hit with the Flu…Again

I had some exciting plans for New Years Eve that I was looking forward to. The past couple years I had chosen to stay in for this particular holiday, so I was excited to get myself out again. However, you might be able to guess what happened next…I got hit with one of the worst flus I’ve ever experienced. Yep, worse than the cold I had before. I had the shakes, a high fever for literally days, and so many other symptoms. I ended up staying in bed on New Years Eve, New Years day, and about four days after that. It was a bad one, guys. I ended up going to see a doctor and getting some antibiotics which helped kick this illness out of me. We were concerned it had the potential to turn into pneumonia, which is why I was being so careful. I usually go a very holistic route when I’m sick and avoid anything stronger than Advil. However this time, antibiotics were necessary. While I’m feeling SO much better now, it took a good 9 days to feel functional again.

Backtrack to January 1st, I was given some news that was definitely surprising to me but ultimately is leading me in a much more positive direction. Some could see it as a huge setback, but I’ve chosen to see it as a great opportunity that I’m grateful for. I’m very excited for the future, and that’s all I’ll say about it.

Since I was so knocked down by this second flu, my time at the gym and taking care of my health was basically nonexistent. I still couldn’t tell you the last time I’ve been at the gym. Before I got sick, my health had become such a priority to me and my time at the gym had become so relaxing and something I needed. So to not be able to do that was tough. Now that my health is finally on the upswing, I’ve been going on plenty of beach runs/walks with my sister. Taking in the sun and saltwater has been so healing for me and has been my escape.

Declining Motivation

Now I’d like to address how all of this has affected this blog and my motivation in general. I have to be honest with you guys and say that I’ve never felt this unmotivated to do the things I love. This blog has always been so important to me even though I struggle with consistency. Never before though, have I had 0% motivation to write, take photos, or anything along the lines of being creative. Even on Instagram, I’ve barely posted and not even cared. I’m not really sure how to deal with this since I’ve always been an overachieving person who wants to grow in what I love. Writing this post is definitely a step in the right direction, although I still feel like something’s missing. I had such high hopes for 2019 and still do, but my motivation has never been so low. I think the hardest part about it is that I’m only hurting myself. I’m not growing or doing anything beneficial for myself in this state and it bothers me a ton. If any of you have some tips on how you stay motivated or bounce back from something destructive like illness, let me know in the comments below! 

2019 Resolutions

This part of the post is solely for myself, but feel free to keep reading! I thought making a short list of things I want to accomplish in 2019 will help my motivation a bit, so here is that list.

  • Bounce back from anything negative with the strength to be and do better
  • Be more consistent with anything and everything in my life
  • Meet new people that help me grow creatively, intellectually, and spiritually (expand my circle of friends in general)
  • Find something that will start a career that I’ll be excited about for years to come
  • Stand up for myself and what I know is right. To not be afraid anymore of speaking my mind, even to those above me
  • Build more confidence
  • Look into furthering my education
  • Find ways to be creative in whatever moment I’m in
  • Reach my goal weight/make good health a lifestyle instead of a task
  • Change my mindset into something more productive
  • Rebrand the blog/schedule out posts more often
  • Make more videos/build editing skills with Final Cut Pro
  • Be more intentional with everyone I meet
  • ATTEMPT to eat less sweets/chocolate (this might be the hardest resolution)

I hope you guys found something on this list that you’d like to do yourself or found inspiration in. I’m sorry for my absence but I honestly wasn’t planning it…I think I needed it though. I’m trying to find my motivation again as quick as possible, but I don’t want this blog to feel like a job. I know the more it feels like a hobby and something I’m not forcing, I’ll want to create more content. I appreciate your patience and thank you guys for reading!

signature-2.png

I’m over here! Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Tumblr | Facebook

 

11 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions & Where I’ve Been!

  1. Oh no! It sounds like you had such a bad run of it, especially over Christmas. Hopefully you are feeling much better now and are on the road to recovery. Good luck with all of your resolutions – a way I am trying to combat my sweet tooth is by eating more dark chocolate which is less sweet and also by having a sweet coffee in the morning to curb the craving. What is something you achieved in 2018 that you are most proud of? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah it seriously was such an awful flu!! But definitely over the worst of it and feeling like myself again!🙌🏼 dark chocolate is an amazing way to curb those cravings, I need to get back on that.
      I think I’m most proud of my college graduation. That was a huge step and such an amazing day! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry to hear about your sickness. I feel like everybody and their mother was ill around Christmas/New Year’s (definitely had a sinus infection/virus). I know you’ll bounce back though and I hope you’re feeling better soon! My word for 2019 is “better” cause I’m constantly trying to better my life in any way I can (: good luck with all of your goals this year

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is all sooo good, Oliva. I love what you said about being intentional and consistent. Those are two things I want to take into my new year as well. Can’t wait to see all the amazing things you do & accomplish this year, love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry you had to deal with sickness! Glad to hear it’s okay now, though 😉
    I absolutely LOVE your goals for 2019! I love how you didn’t write specific things to achieve but rather how to dive into a different mindset and change the way you see and approach things !
    Concerning the motivation, it’s something I struggle a lot with, too! I found that going to the gym and doing some physical exercise really helped! As well as writing down what I want to do every day, the night before 🙂
    Happy new year and I wish you all the best for this resolutions 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, I appreciate all the love! So happy you liked my goals as well. I didn’t want to write anything totally expected and improve myself as a person. I totally agree about going to the gym and writing things down, they TOTALLY help! Happy new year to you as well and good luck with all your resolutions! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.